Finnish Hockey League Betting Guide & Tips

Liiga is the heart of Finnish hockey, attracting big interest and here we tell you everything you need to know about the Finnish hockey league.
The Liiga is the top league in Finnish hockey, featuring top level players and teams, and attracting huge interest, not just in Finland, but also around the globe. With excellent TV coverage, whether you are at the rink or at home, you can enjoy the action from Liiga and as part of that, there are many great betting markets created by Finnish bookmakers for the games that are taking place.

History of Finnish Hockey

Liiga was founded in 1975, creating a professional hockey league for the top tier teams to play in. The creation of Liiga has been a big reason why Finnish hockey is now one of the powerhouses on the global stage, with many superstars coming through the ranks of the teams competing.

Liiga Season Schedule

During the regular season, each team will play 60 games, beginning in September and playing until March. The winner of the regular season receives a trophy, though this is not as prestigious as the playoffs.

The Finnish hockey league winners are classed as the team that wins the playoffs. Those finishing in the top six during the Liiga regular season will automatically qualify for the second round of the playoffs, while teams ranked 7-10 will play each other to determine the final two qualifiers. These then play until just two teams remain, where they matchup to see who takes the gold medal and Liiga trophy. Playoff series are played as a best of seven games series.

Top Players in Finnish Hockey

Liiga is home to some of the best players in the world outside of the NHL, providing top level hockey for fans to enjoy.

Here are some of the names to look out for:

  • Anton Levtchi
  • Saku Mäenalanen
  • Tuomas Kiiskinen
  • Arttu Ilomäki
  • Topi Niemelä
  • Joel Blomqvist

Teams in the Finnish Hockey League

15 teams take part in Liiga, spread across Finland and when it comes to names in Finnish hockey, these are the biggest out there. Below you will find the 15 participants, all aiming to win Liiga this season.

  • HIFK
  • HPK
  • Ilves
  • Jukurit
  • JYP
  • KalPa
  • KooKoo
  • Kärpät
  • Lukko
  • Pelicans
  • SaiPa
  • Sport
  • Tappara
  • TPS
  • Ässät

Who Will Win Liiga?

The battle for the Liiga season title is on! The biggest names in Finland are all going through the regular season and battling for position to ensure they qualify for the playoffs and give themselves the chance to win the gold medal and Liiga trophy. Favorites include Tappara, Jukurit, Ilves, HPK, HIFK, TPS, Kärpät and Lukko as many teams think they can win.

With so many involved, betting on the Liiga title winner is strong, with odds changing on a regular basis as teams show their strength and win games. Teams who finish in the top six in Liiga will automatically qualify for the second round of the playoffs, and for that reason, these teams will be favored by bookmakers to win outright.